Never Forget

world-trade-center-2013

September 11th is the only day of the year really that we, as a country, look back at hate directed at us because of our common homeland. Everyone old enough to remember this day has a memory of where you were, what you were doing, and who you were with when you saw the news footage the first time. I was in the 6th grade on 9/11/01, it was two years before my concussion and so a lot of particulars have been pushed out. That Earth shattering Tuesday is all such a blur. The house looks old in my memories; closed off kitchen, white walls and white carpets, my old dog Lizzie lazying about somewhere and on this morning broadcasting noise was coming from the wood paneled entertainment center. I grab my book bag and binder (I was too cool to put my decorated binder in my bag back in those days) from behind the couch and scramble out the front door. There is a long yellow bubble-glass window by the door and a small courtyard outside with a black gate. I hurry to school, I have an idea of what happened but I think I must not understand because it looked like a movie. Even after hearing about it in detail and discussing my feelings at length I don’t understand or know how to deal.
It was colossal and heart stopping, and it got replayed so much throughout the day it became numbing. It was on in every class, nobody knew what else to do but watch.
To this day thinking about it alone in the silence makes my heart swell up. I don’t have the gal to talk to anyone about it really because too many people bring in their own theories and conspiracies. In our modern culture that happens so quickly but in my meaningless opinion fourteen years is still too soon. Let the cold hard facts settle in, think about the young single mother flying alone with her baby for the first time and think of her panicked heart beat as she squeezed her baby to her chest while the plane plunged down. Think of the husband whose wife never came home from work. Now let your feelings take you over as you realize that this is the world we live in now, that it’s heartbreaking and there is nothing anyone can do about it. Don’t let your mind wonder to other epic disasters or God forbid to politics, now is not the time. Just be still.

This has become a day we must remember solemnly to love those around us. We’ve all been to hell and back, we know what it’s like. Let’s just open our hearts.

Leave a Reply

