Thankful Pups

Even in this big bad world we live in today full of murder, theft, and poverty there is so much to be thankful for. True, Thanksgiving itself is more or less a remembrance of a bunch of white Europeans coming to America to steal land and spread disease. Not so great for the indigenous people of North America but it’s year 2015 so let’s not act like that is still the point of this day. I think it’s very important that we teach our school kids real history, that after all is how we grow, but it seems to me that modern day Thanksgiving is a day to spend with your family and/or friends to celebrate each other and all that we’ve worked so hard for. It is common in this age of constant instant gratification for us all to complain. We complain about not having the things that we covet, we complain about the politics that we do not actively get involved in, we basically complain that life is unfair. Guess what though, it always has been. We don’t get what we deserve, we get what we get. Take a look around you though; if you have a roof above you and a computer to entertain you, people (or animals) that care about you, or a meal coming your way then you have something to be thankful for.

This year Eric and I are hosting Thanksgiving, a wonderful first. Eric is making the bird and some some good ol’ southern style mac’n’cheese while I’ve been put in charge of salad and stuffing. My parents and brother are also coming with mashed potatoes and pie.
We’re going to have five people crammed around our small dining table and three little dogs who will probably be moping around hoping for table scraps. I’m so thankful for it all.
I’m thankful for my family.
I’m thankful for my soon-to-be husband who is putting up with my family.
I’m thankful for my dogs and all the meaning they’ve added to my life.
I’m thankful for my girlfriends who come to this little podunk town to spend time with me.
I’m thankful for the future that Eric and I are planning together.
I’m thankful for this home and the time we’ve gotten to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

