Empath vs Narcissist

Today I read an article off of Higher Perspective about the toxic relationship between empaths and narcissists. Being an empath is when you are affected by other people’s energy. Empaths have an innate ability to intuitively feel and perceive others. The life of an empath is unconsciously influenced by the desires, wishes, thoughts, and moods of others but it is more than merely being “overly sensitive”. Narcissism, on the other hand, is the pursuit of gratification from vanity or egotistic admiration of one’s own attributes. The term originated from Greek mythology, when the young Narcissus fell in love with his own image reflected in a pool of water. Narcissism is also known from psychoanalytic theory, which was popularly introduced in Sigmund Freud. I’ve known several a narcissist in my life. I always catch myself trying to fix them while they just try to suck the life out of me. I had a particularly harsh experience once and it kind of cured me, but let me be clear that it is hard.

The narcissist doesn’t care for the empath’s friendship, only their energy. They need the love of others but they won’t ever love back. Don’t waist your time with selfish people like this because all it will do is drain you. Sometimes it is hard to turn them away, it feels like letting go is giving up but it’s really not. Holding on is giving up on yourself. Recently I’ve come to see my many many empathetic traits that I’ve often thought make me weak, but perhaps being sensitive is not the same thing as being fragile. A strong-sensitive person does get easily tired and overwhelmed but this does not make them easy to push around, they will call people out on their shit and be selective of who they give their energy to. Be strong, don’t give your energy to those who who don’t deserve it.

Perhaps my experiences are what shaped my love of animals. My dogs, for example, are a heck of a lot of work but it never drains me because they aren’t shy to show me their love and appreciation. People, on the other hand, seldomly show you respect as payment for your trust. Most people learn and grow while a narcissist never will, they are too busy playing games.

Leave a Reply

