Our Fourth Christmas

December 25 2015 will be Eric and my fourth Christmas together. Four seems like a pretty high number to me, I’ve never been with a boyfriend this long. Our first Christmas, 2012, was the same month that we moved into our first apartment together so it was during a hectic time. 2013 and 2014 we went and stayed with Eric’s family in Kentucky which was a fun adventure but also a long ass journey. So this year the plan is to just stay home, save money for the wedding. I would like to get some cute pictures with the dogs but really it is going to be a nice relaxed holiday either way. I am very much looking forward to putting up holiday lights. I put away the menorah today and perhaps tomorrow morning Eric will come home with lights to put up inside. We decided on blue and white lights so we can leave them up through new year and they will still be holiday appropriate, time and time again.

I love that Eric and I have our lives together worked out so that things like Thanksgiving, Hanukkah, and Christmas are down to a routine. I love that we have a home to stay at together. I love this time of year and I love that I have someone, an entire family of my own really, to enjoy it with from now on. This is the only gift I need.

Leave a Reply

