Quitting Drinking

I’m a little late, I know, but I think I’m going to quit drinking this year. The other night when Eric was at work I decided to drink some Absinthe, and I drank too much. He came home early, at 6 am, and I had passed out in bed with the dogs locked in the hall barking. He struggled to wake me up and I got sick all over the place before falling back asleep, and then in the morning I remembered nothing at all. So I don’t want to drink anymore. I was happy that night, just enjoying my solitude and my dogs. Eric showed me when I came to how many booze containers I had emptied and I can’t explain it, so I’m not going to let it happen again.

I figure it’s a great way to loose some weight, although I do think I’ll drink a bit at my wedding. Plus I have been making breakfast shakes and blended drinks lately, and I found a few that are supposedly good for your liver. Can’t be bad either way so I’m going to quit drinking. For this year at least. I quit smoking cigarettes after a brief experiment (I only smoked for like 3 years until all my philosophy classes were on the 3rd floor. It was that or drop out of school.) so it probably won’t be too hard. I mean I turned into a monstrous bitch the first week without my cigarettes, and for about another year I would sneak a drag once in a while, but I did it. I can do this too and be all that much healthier for it! Sometimes we need to give up the things we love, the things that comfort us, in order to grow stronger.

Leave a Reply

