Head Bangers

On first glance I know I don’t look like the type, but I love songs with a heavy beat I can bang to. What can I say, I know hip-hop is it right now. I cannot tell you how often I hear it said “I need a song I can dance too” but I’m a child of the 90s. As far as I’m concerned, jumping up and down while air guitaring is dancing. I don’t know what it is about a solid base that just makes me want to move my body! For obvious reasons dance isn’t an art form that I truly participate in but I feel like at least when I rock my head I’m nodding in agreement with the music.

Growing up I swear grunge was all anyone ever listened too. The radio had basically three options; classic rock, indie rock, and grunge rock. I mean, I guess there was plenty of hip-hop on the car radio towards the end of high school but I’m weird and started getting into blues and swing that year. My school had a swing club, and although I was in a wheelchair at the time I still liked the vibe.

So whichever type of music genre a person favors it seems that our body movement is deeply influenced by the rhythm. It is so interesting how the right sounds just make you want to move your body!

Leave a Reply

