The reason I majored in Philosophy and dropped both Journalism and Business 

Have you watched the news?

I haven’t, I get all my news off the Internet. I do see Fox or CNN clips sometimes though and I can tell you, it’s all shit.

All my young life my dad was glued to CNN, then as I got older he switched to Fox because the liberal media got so caught up in blaming the Jews for every problem on Earth rather than actually addressing issues, and now as conservative media has been caught lying on camera multiple times he’s moved on to BBC.

That says a lot to me. The United States of America, the land of the free and home of the brave, does not offer reliable unbiased media coverage. 

That’s why I didn’t study Journalism. I started to, I worked on my middle school, high school, and college newspapers. I took beginners courses, and you know what I learned? You know what actually teachers and professors told me? Journalism is dead.

There are no news stories, only levels of propaganda. So then I struggled for a bit before falling for a business degree. That didn’t last too long though, I mean business is interesting. Don’t get me wrong, there are many many different options for a business degree. If you’re looking to make money though it’s all about profit. It’s basically a criminal enterprise. Me and my husband very much want to start a business, a sustainable business with community values but in order to do that you must be prepared to without government funding. If you take out a loan your stuck in a pyramid scheme. In order to have a business like I want, we gotta own the property and the products. Makes it a lot harder, but I’m getting away from my point.

I studied philosophy as an end in itself. I studied philosophy because it taught me how to think not what to think. I studied philosophy with the faith that it would truly prepare me for life. Not a career but a life, and god has it! I don’t always like what I see, but I do like that I always can see. This world needs more seers. We act too quickly, we work towards lesser goals like our life depends on it but our life only truly depends on one thing. Our life depends on getting our basic needs met, we need to find a way to meet the most people’s basic needs. That’s food, that’s water, that’s shelter.

Leave a Reply

