Woman’s March 

I was a part of a huge nation wide woman’s march yesterday, from my home town of Eugene Oregon. As I’ve written before, hearing Bernie Sanders in October 2015 really got me a lot more politically active than ever before. I’ve been to rallies, marches, I’ve phone banked, called senators and Congress, and even faced my social anxiety by going door to door on local issues.

The woman’s march yesterday got a lot of attention, both negative and positive, but I am choosing to look at the positive. It’s unfortunate that many political figures, such as Debbie Wasserman Schultz, are using this woman’s march as a chance to shame people. It is probably true that George Soros promoted this March to get people agitated, but maybe we as citizens need a little agitation…the March yesterday was not explicitly anti-Trump, and definitely not pro-Hillary. It was simply a march for the rights of woman, because yes we have gained far more rights than in the past and we intend to keep them. It is our duty to keep our government accountable, and to uphold all we’ve gained from woman’s marches throughout history. Because as many people seem to be forgetting, the right to protest is a HUGE part of what makes America free, and here are a couple things people marched for yesterday. 

Control over our own bodies and reproduction. 

Equal pay for equal work.

President Trump wants to cut funding for battered woman. 

The whole Republican party wants to cut funding to Planned Parenthood, which will damage our entire Healthcare system. 

I personally went yesterday to support my fellow woman. My mother asked me to join her and I happily obliged. We created our own signs, dressed up in pink hippy rainwear, and marched and chanted! 

“THIS IS WHAT DEMOCRACY LOOKS LIKE!”

It was a great vibe filling up the streets, both men and women everywhere just to let the Trump administration know that woman’s rights are human rights.

Black Lives Matter.

LGBT rights matter.

The disabled are entitled to education. I was proud to see many wheelchairs peacefully protesting in the streets.

Healthcare is a human right. 

Water is life.

And first and foremost, love is love.

One thought on “Woman’s March 

  1. I just like the valuable information you supply on your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I am slightly certain I will be told a lot of new stuff proper right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

    Like

Leave a Reply

