First Day of Spring

It’s been a long winter. We only had one real big snow, had some hail though, many gray sky’s, and hella rain! Ed and Eddy don’t like the cold much but they dealt with it better this year than last. For the last two days here though it’s been sunny as can be, still terribly cold but beautiful and sunny!

On top of being the first day of spring, it is also the first day that my husband and I have been married over a year! It really doesn’t feel any different, but at the same time it’s really nice. We’re not newly weds anymore, we’re an established family. I also really love how much our family has grown and become one. 

Reflecting on 3/20/16 in the Victorian room at the Little Chapel in Los Vegas, I have so many fond memories. It was truly my perfect wedding. Looking back on the pictures I’m most greatful for two things. The first is my dogs; originally my husband’s best friend was supposed to fly down and be our witness. Unfortunately he missed his flight, which caused me to have a meltdown. Luckily  though my parents and brother witnessed us, and they brought all the dogs with them. Me and my now-husband got to walk ourselves down the isle, with Ed and Eddy, to meet our female minister and be bonded in holy matrimony. Or maybe not holy…it was a secular reception. We had a candle lighting ceremony. I love everything about it!

The second thing I loved was that the particular chapel I chose, they have quite a few beautiful rooms decorated in various themes. The Little Chapel is a popular spot for destination weddings. Anyway though ever since I was a teenager I’ve loved the Victorian anesthetic, which is probably why I picked out the dress I did. I didn’t realize they matched  so well until we arrived. I’m so glad it turned out the way it did! My wedding pictures are stunning!

If I had it to do over again I wouldn’t change a thing! I know I’m supposed to have dreamed of a big wedding with lots of people and gifts, but eloping was perfect for me! And we had such a fun time being “just married” in Vegas! It’s such a shameless city. You can dress however you want and drink whatever you want wherever you want,  and that’s exactly what you run into all across the city. Plus all the shows and gambling,  it was a great place to escape the real world and focus on ourselves. 

Leave a Reply

